I have never, ever in my life been a morning person. It’s just not in my DNA. However, the job that God provided for me requires me to be at work at 730 and it is a 25-30 minute drive (dependant on traffic). Poor me now gets up before 6 every week day.

I absolutely love it though. Know why? Because everyday on my way to work, I cross over the Missouri River and if I look to my left I can see the most gorgeous sunrise imaginable. I am always in awe at how beautiful and different (and distracting — stay in your lane!) it can be every day. God paints these beautiful sunrises every morning and paints magnificient sunsets every evening. Isn’t it crazy to think that the Lord of the universe will put so much thought and care into painting something that will fade so quickly? Imagine how much more thought and effort He is putting into the portrait of your life!

Sometimes it doesn’t seem that way though, does it? Sometimes it feels like our life is just a muddy mixture of all of the leftover colors. Sometimes it feels like our life just had paint randomly splattered on with no real meaning or purpose. Sometimes our life feels like the artist gave up halfway through and went to work on someone else’s. I’ve felt all of these things and more.

I’ve been doing a lot of pondering on hardships lately. I’ve faced my fair share of them and I’ve sat and watched as other people brave them as well. It never seems fair, does it? Sometimes we see no point in even pushing through the clouds and storms of life. It seems like endless storm after hurricane after twister after lighting strike. It never ends.

Why should we push through? Is what’s on the other side even worth it?

Yes. It is.

This morning as I was driving to work and praying for different family members and friends who are facing hard times, I crossed the Missouri River, looked to my left and saw something amazing. There were layers of clouds. On the outside they were dark and were obviously leftover from a storm. Behind the dark clouds you could see the sun piercing through in different places. I can’t vividly explain it to you like I need to. I took a picture, but it still doesn’t come close to seeing the real thing. It was jawdropping. I actually said outloud, “Those dark clouds make me wonder what’s on the other side.” Not even a mile later, I glanced at a truck to my right and it had a bumper sticker on the driver’s door that said “What’s on the other side?” I lol’d (for real)

What’s on the other side of life’s storms? More glory, grace, mercy, redemption, kindness, love, goodness, passion and peace than we could possibly imagine. God’s still there. Even when it’s stormy, the sun is still on the other side. Even when life is hard, God’s still right there on the other side.

Don’t quit pushing. Never give up. It’s worth it in the end.

“Be strong and courageous. Do not fear or be in dread of them, for it is the Lord your God who goes with you. He will not leave you or forsake you.” — Deuteronomy 31:6

“It is the Lord who goes before you. He will be with you; he will not leave you or forsake you. Do not fear or be dismayed.” — Deuteronomy 31:8

Leave a Reply

