In case you missed it, Obama won. In case you were completely under rock and are totally oblivious, Republicans and Christians (the two are not synonymous) are not happy about it.

Truth be told, I’m not exactly thrilled about it either. As Christians though, we can hold fast to the truth that “God works all things to the good” … right? Let’s look at it.

The Bible says…

“And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose.” Romans 8:28

I’m no theologian, but I’m fairly certain that ‘good’ and ‘His purpose’ here are far different from what we sometimes interpret. I’m also fairly certain that a prosperous nation, successful lives, the American dream and plenty of opportunities in life is not always God’s will. God sees beyond this present, temporal life. God knows what’s most important. God uses what we see as bad and makes good things from it.

“For this is the will of my Father, that everyone who looks on the Son and believes in him should have eternal life, and I will raise him up on the last day.” John 6:28

Now is not the time to point at those who voted differently than us and say, “Look what you did!” It’s the time to point others to Christ and say, “Look what He did!”

We need to remember that as Christians, we have been called to a high standard of living. As Christians, we are called to go against the flow of the world and press on towards Christ. We’re different. We can’t expect those who do not believe like we do to talk like we do, think like we do or act like we do.

We focus so much on the actions of others, and forget that a man’s heart reflects the man (Proverbs 27:19). We spend so much time trying to persuade others to vote like us and forget that others don’t believe things the way we do. I wonder what the outcome of the election could have been, if as Christians we had focused more on spreading the Good News and fulfilling the Great Commission?

“How then will they call on him in whom they have not believed? And how are they to believe in him of whom they have never heard? And how are they to hear without someone preaching?And how are they to preach unless they are sent? As it is written, “How beautiful are the feet of those who preach the good news!” But they have not all obeyed the gospel. For Isaiah says, “Lord, who has believed what he has heard from us?” So faith comes from hearing, and hearing through the word of Christ.” Romans 10:14-17

I hesitated to even post this, because I know that no matter what you believe, there will always be strong opposition. I will leave you with this…

I don’t know what direction God plans to take our country. I’m just along for the ride. I don’t do the things that I know I should. I’m just as guilty, if not more so, as anyone else. I don’t have all of the answers. I’m still learning.

I thank him who has given me strength, Christ Jesus our Lord, because he judged me faithful, appointing me to his service,though formerly I was a blasphemer, persecutor, and insolent opponent. But I received mercy because I had acted ignorantly in unbelief,and the grace of our Lord overflowed for me with the faith and love that are in Christ Jesus. The saying is trustworthy and deserving of full acceptance, that Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners, of whom I am the foremost. But I received mercy for this reason, that in me, as the foremost, Jesus Christ might display his perfect patience as an example to those who were to believe in him for eternal life. To the King of the ages, immortal, invisible, the only God, be honor and glory forever and ever. Amen.” 1 Timothy 1:12-17 (Paul speaking)

Leave a Reply

