“The days are long, but the years are short.” -Gretchen Rubin
I stumbled across this quote the other day and I was struck by the simplicity of a statement that could so fully sum up all of the complex thoughts I’ve been running circles around for so long.

“It’s been a long day”
“I wish this day was over”
“I can’t wait ’til Friday”
“I hate hot weather. I can’t wait ’til it cools down.”
“Only a few more years until I can [fill in the blank]!”

It’s mind boggling to me…just how much time I wish away when time is so short as is. I’m always looking forward to the next step, the next day, the next week, month, year…I forget to live in the now.

Instead of anticipating the next sunrise, I want to sit and enjoy the sunset. I want to reflect on each and every day like it counts. I don’t want to write off any more time or just merely endure a moment in order to move onto the next one. I want to learn to value every breath, every heartbeat, every conversation, every encounter, every shared meal, every moment spent alone…all of it.

I don’t have a solution or any answers. I just have a heart that yearns to be alive and enjoy every moment of it — I want to live, not just merely be alive.

Leave a Reply

